06 Break Away


It broke off from the rock and fell into the sea. There it was moulded for a thousand years. When it came out it was no longer what it had been. It had legs and arms. Although in the sea it could only flounder when at last it found solid ground it could walk. And walk it did.

It walked for a long time. When it had walked so far that almost anyone or anything else would have crumbled and turned to dust, it found a great tree. Something there wanted to come with it, so it said:

‘Break away.’

It was not sure of the words for it had never used them before, but the other seemed to catch the meaning. The other broke away from the tree, and from then on they walked together.

At some point they thought, as it is, we are two, perhaps we could be more. They knew that both of them came from something else, so they took a bit from themselves and shaped it into one thing. When they were finished, they found they had not only made a third thing, they had also grown on each other and rooted themselves to the spot.

The planets revolved many times before they could communicate with the third thing. It was difficult, but at last the new thing understood the idea which the first thing had conveyed to the second such a long time ago: ‘Break away’.

And the new thing did.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. Beautiful. Thanks for posting. 🙂

    Reply
  2. stodmor

     /  December 23, 2011

    your stories are dangerously good. why dangerously good? becaue i always walk away from them thinking ‘yeah, i could totally do that.’
    and that is dangerous.

    Reply
  3. stodmor

     /  December 23, 2011

    ps. you make it look easy. seriously i have really enjoyed your stories.

    Reply
    • I’m very happy that you like my stories 🙂
      But I had better admit that none of these stories are first drafts.
      Also, I’ve been writing for quite some time, and I’ve had some great friends and teachers who have given me constructive criticism on things I wrote in the past. So now I’ve learnt what to look for when I edit. Of course I still miss plenty of things, so I meet monthly with a group of other writers so we can read each other’s texts and give each other critique. All in all, I think it has helped me become a better writer 🙂
      And thank you for reading 🙂

      Reply
  4. Interesting this breaking away…left me with something to ponder upon. Thanks:)

    Reply
  5. I’ve read some good stuff here. Definitely worth bookmarking for revisiting.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

