10 Breathe Again

‘Breathe… Good… Again… take a deep breath and let yourself go. Good… Where are you?’

‘I’m, I think I’m in a church… why a church?’

‘What can you see?’

‘The altar is right in front of me. The pews behind me are all empty. There’s a flagon of wine on the floor. Oh, dear, think I knocked it over. The wine is spilling onto the floor. Wait a minute. It’s not wine; it’s all sticky. And it smells strange. Or maybe it’s not the wine, or the… whatever red stuff on the floor, but something smells strange.’

‘Can you describe the smell?’

‘It’s sweet. I can’t place it. It’s a good thing it’s not stronger than it is, it would force my breakfast back up. Uh oh.’

‘What is it?’

‘The floor just began to tremble… It’s getting stronger. The pews are getting knocked over. Ow, my ears! There was just a thunderous noise and now there’s a crack out in the middle of the floor. And something… Something is coming up. It’s huge and rotten and it’s… It’s coming after me! Oh my God, it’s coming for me!’

‘Please relax, you are safe.’

‘It’s been hiding, hiding under the floorboards all this time, and now it’s coming for me.’

‘You have to come back now.’

‘It’s between me and the door. There’s no way to run. No windows. It’s grabbing me. No!’

‘Breathe.’

‘I can’t! It’s got me by the throat!’

‘Breathe.’

‘No! It’s going to-’

‘Breathe.’

Previous Post
Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Scriptor Obscura

     /  January 6, 2012

    Great story…As I was reading it, I imagined that it could perhaps be taking place in a therapists office, and the person telling the story is lying on the therapists couch as the therapist is talking them through a visualization of some sort, or perhaps not…I don’t know if this is the effect that you intended, but I am really curious to know where this is meant to take place, or more about the story…Perhaps this takes place in an insane asylum and a therapist is guiding one of the inmates/patients through a visualization of their inner demons or experiences, etc…Great though provoking story!

    Reply
    • Thank you for the compliment 🙂
      When people read this story, I’d like them to use their imagination and wherever and however they imagine this to take place, I’d like them to keep that idea.
      I can still tell you what I imagined while I wrote the story though. Most of the time, I imagined a therapist or hypnotist ‘working’ on a subject. The rest of the time, I imagined a magician actually transporting someone into another world. But I never decided a geographical where because I did not feel that was important to tell.
      I hope you can use my answer even though it was not very direct…
      Thank you for reading 🙂

      Reply
  2. I believe this is how my husband feels when he experiences sleep paralysis and the corresponding nightmares from his narcolepsy. Your story made me feel afraid for him. Thank you for a window into his world.

    Reply
    • You’re welcome.
      I have a friend with narcolepsy. It makes it difficult for him to attend lectures at the university and quite a lot of other things… But he’s pulling through.
      I hope your husband will be able to do what he wants to do.
      Thank you for reading, and I wish you all the best 🙂

      Reply
  3. I hold my breath unconsciously and wonder why I feel lightheaded. I’m a Catholic and regard the church as a holy and incorruptible place. I felt a bit uncomfortable reading this. You obviously wanted a visceral type of reaction. You got one 🙂

    Reply
    • Thank you for the comment 🙂
      It is always good to hear that one’s texts have had an emotional impact.
      Thank you very much for reading 🙂

      Reply
  4. Powerful. Well done!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

