16 Questioning

‘Who sent you?’ The voice floats out from behind a strong white light.

‘No one, I don’t know what you’re talking about!’ He squints and squirms in the chair. But the ropes are tight and the questioner is well hidden behind the light.

‘Who are you?’

‘No one.’

Who are you?’

‘I’m nobody special!’

‘Who are you?’

‘I’m Thomas Paulson.’

‘Why are you here?’

‘I don’t know, I don’t remember, I-’

‘Why are you here?’

‘Because you tied me up. If you untie me I promise to go away, far away.’

‘Where would you go?’

‘I don’t know. Anywhere that isn’t here.’

‘Do you have any family?’

‘I,’ he swallows, there is a strange buzzing in his head, ‘why do you want to know that?’

‘Do you have any family?’ the voice is completely level. It betrays no emotions.

‘Both my parents are dead,’ he says, and the buzzing in his head increases.

‘Do you have a wife?’

‘No,’ he says.

‘Do you have a wife?’

There is a clamp tightening on his head. His head is about to crack like a nut.

‘Yes! Yes, I have a wife,’ he bursts out.

‘What is her name?’

The buzzing is still there, but the headache is gone.

‘Liz…’ he whispers.

‘Do you have any other family?’

‘We have two kids,’ he says, ‘please! Please don’t hurt them.’

‘How old are you?’

The buzzing recedes.

‘What?’

‘How old are you?’

’37, what has that got to do with anything?’

‘Do you think of yourself as young?’

‘What kind of question is that?’

‘Do you think of yourself as young?’

‘Is this some trick?’

‘Do you think of yourself as young?’

‘I suppose, but I don’t see-’

‘Then why are you here?’

‘I don’t know what you’re talking about! Just let me go! I just want to go home!’

‘Why do you want to go home?’

The buzzing returns.

‘Isn’t it obvious?’

‘Why do you want to go home?’

‘I want to be with my wife and kids again.’

‘Will you be with them if you go home?’

The buzzing intensifies.

‘Of cour-’

‘Will you be with them if you go home?’

The buzzing is so strong it almost drowns the voice.

‘I… Liz she… She’s not there…’

‘Where is she?’

‘She…’

His head clears completely. For a moment he stares into thin air then his chin falls unto his chest. ‘Oh God…’

‘Where is she?’ says the voice.

‘She was going to visit her parents inHolland,’ he says, ‘the kids were going with her…’

‘Why are you here?’

He swallows several times.

‘The plane crashed. She’s dead. They all are… dead. And I… didn’t know what to do. There was no one left… and I…’

His eyes cloud over.

‘I know why I’m here now.’

Leave a comment

12 Comments

  1. Scriptor Obscura

     /  February 17, 2012

    Wow! I love this one! I don’t know exactly what is going on or why the guy is being questioned or by whom, or what his being there has to do with his wife and kids dying in a plane crash, but I love this story. It really keeps you wanting to read it up until the very end. It really keeps you on the edge of your seat. This is a very good story. I really hope that you will continue this story, I want to know what happens next, and where the guy is, and what is going on! 😀

    Reply
    • I’m really glad that you liked it 🙂
      And I’m very sorry to disappoint you, but I wrote it as a stand alone piece…
      However, on Wednesday I’ll post the first part of a longer series, so I hope you’ll enjoy that just as much 🙂

      Reply
  2. Excellent work. You made me curious to read more and more! And then… reality strikes.

    Thanks for sharing your writings with us 😉

    Reply
  3. very powerful and enigmatic. I dig it.

    Reply
  4. The ending caught me off-guard, great story here! I ‘liked’ you on Facebook today too 🙂

    Reply
  5. Nice. I like dialogue-heavy stories. There’s not enough of them in the world.

    Reply
  6. powerful!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

