The Creation of Namé Hara

I saw this post, and since I know that sometimes stories begin with a character, I thought I would like to make a character sketch just for fun.

This is how it turned out:

Namé Hara

Physical: Black hair long enough to touch her lower back. Brown eyes. Golden brown skin. About five foot tall.

Personality: Quick to laugh. Brooding. Shy. Self-critical. Protective.

Family: 1 older sister, 3 older brothers. Mother, father and grandparents on both sides still alive.

Friends: A few good friends, many “acquaintances”.

Relationships: None.

Personal History: She began dancing when she was five years old, she stopped when she was 13. She said it was because she did not like dancing anymore. Really it was because she liked one of the boys in her dancing class, and she did not want any physical contact with anyone else, but she was too shy to dance with him. She is now 17 and no longer in love with the boy, but she still thinks it would be embarrassing to begin dancing again.

I do not think this one will end up as a story, but it was a nice exercise 🙂

When I rewrote my novel, I made character sketches for all the important characters to try to get a better picture of them all, and I found it very helpful.

However, when I write short stories or flash fiction I practically never make sketches of the characters. But maybe I should once in a while, it might give some of the characters more depth?

What do you think? Do you use character sketches?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

10 Comments

  1. Estelle

     /  September 21, 2012

    Well, I’m curious to read what will happen, so write a story. I’ve already pictured her in my mind.

    Reply
  2. I also would like to read more.

    Reply
  3. robertnathan

     /  September 23, 2012

    I think character sketches are very useful — thanks for posting this. And thanks for liking my blog 🙂

    Reply
  4. I actually have never written a character sketch before, but I have a story in mind and have been writing character sketches in my head for thee last couple of months. I think you have inspired me to finally put it on paper!

    Reply
  5. Nice job. Sounds interesting. Glad my post was helpful to you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

