The Accident

MBar_700

I really shouldn’t have, but I bought eleven Mars bars from my local Kiosk that day. As I stepped outside, I felt more disgusting than ever. Even though my arms are skeletal thin, it still looks like I’m hiding a football under my t-shirt.

Nausea crept in on me as I thought of the Mars bars in the bag, the cheap chocolate, the sickly sweetness, and I was afraid that I’d vomit then and there. I stood still for a while on the pavement, focusing on my breathing.

In, a long pause, out, in.

It was stupid this, I didn’t even want them. Why did I keep buying them? I clenched my hands around the plastic bag and twisted it as if I was twisting the neck of a chicken that had done me some great evil.

No, not today, the Mars bars would not get me today, and I flung out my arm to toss the bag away, but regret struck me at once and I tried to close my fingers around the handle, but it was already flying out onto the road and I followed it already thinking: ‘I’m sorry, I didn’t mean it Mars bars,’ and as I ended on my knees on the road a car veered around me and collided with a young girl on a bicycle, the yellow dress of the girl billowing as she fell through the air.

Then she lay very still on the asphalt.

Then I fled with the Mars bars clutched to my chest.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

5 Comments

  1. I confess I am not sure whether this is fiction or not, but I know that feeling very well. I happily respond to the lure of Timbits, eat like 20 of them, and then feel disgusting – as I knew I would, so then why did I do it?!? At least it is an incentive to eat well for a good length of time afterwards

    Lily

    Reply
    • The text is fiction, but the feeling is real.
      I think everyone has some irrational habits and I think it’s good that you at least get some good out of it too with the healthy diet afterwards 🙂

      Thank you for reading 🙂

      Reply
  2. crazykokonut

     /  March 31, 2013

    Mars is so awesome, it’s my on-the-road to-go snack!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

