Ridiculous Revelations

Rice pudding bowl

Rice pudding to read relatives’ fortunes in (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

The only revelations I ever receive are

Of how to:

Read relatives’ fortunes in rice pudding

Or

How rats rotate in zero gravity.

With the risk of being ridiculed,

I admit that I only

Feel

That I have a role in this world

When I’m running.

Which I realize is ridiculous.

I’m not like Richard the third

Who ripped his way through all his rivals and even

Relished

The road to the throne.

Not that I’m ravenous to rupture any organs, but

I need a goal to relinquish this thirst.

I cannot rest

Until I have some sort of quest

Or rebellion

To relieve my shattered nerves and

Convince me

That my ramblings on this earth is

Or at least will be

In some way

Worthwhile.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. nice poem, i think that is every person’s quest, to not have lived their life in vain ) beth

    Reply
    • Thank you 🙂
      I think you are right.
      At least, if I met someone who did not care if he/she ever achieved anything, I would think them rather odd.

      Thank you for reading and commenting 🙂

      Reply
  2. I call those folk sleepwalkers. Thank goodness enough of us are awake.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

