The Angel

Angel 013

Angel 013 (Photo credit: Juliett-Foxtrott)

There is an angel at the back of the garden between the shrubs and the hedge. She has been there for a long time. Her dress is tangled in bindweed and moss is creeping up her neck. One of her wings has crumbled slightly. In the right light the white flowers at her feet look like stars.

I visit her irregularly. Some months it is almost every day, other months I do not visit her at all. I have often contemplated removing some of the weeds, but I am always too far from her to do it.

When I visit her in the rain, she weeps. But even when it is dry everywhere else that place smells of damp earth.

I do not know who put her there or why. It seems like a lonely place to leave her.

But what I really wonder is,
does anyone other than I see her beauty?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

