Worlds in a Crystal

I hold the fractured crystal to the light and it reveals its colours to me. As I turn it, I find a yellow part which must resemble a world where they can still see the sun. People tell me the sun will never peep through the smog, but just holding this crystal I feel sunny warmth spreading through my fingers.

When I turn the crystal a bit more, I find a deep blue that must come from a wide clean ocean and I smell the salt. Another turn brings me a lush green and I taste the clean oxygen of an enormous forest with trees so tall they take my breath away and I clutch the crystal tighter.

With a crack the crystal splinters, cutting my fingers, releasing red and as the stained fragments shatter on the rock below me, I wonder whether the world of trees is lost forever.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I love your description. It’s so colorful
    http://www.awordofsubstance.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

