Norway

I went to Norway for two weeks and climbed Snøhetta and Rondeslottet among others, and during those weeks I had no connection to the internet. In fact, most of the time I didn’t even have coverage on my phone. But I was clever and wrote four updates in advance and scheduled them, so that I didn’t miss a single update during my vacation.

(I was on Stortoppen which is the top to the far right.)

(Snøhetta. I was on Stortoppen (2286 m) which is the top to the far right.)

Then of course I missed the Wednesday update after I got home.

Anyway, it was a lovely trip. We had beautiful sunshine most of the time and the one day where it really poured we spent reading in a cozy hut.

One of the first days, we saw the musk oxen in Dovrefjell which are actually not oxen but goats.

We sat down with our guide about 200 meters from them and had lunch. The musk oxen looked at us when we approached and sat down, but at soon as we put down our rucksacks they were back to grazing or ramming each other or in the case of one of the calves, suckling milk from its mother.

(Credit: Randy Kokesch)

(Credit: Randy Kokesch. I didn’t get any pictures myself.)

They are usually very peaceful, but we didn’t go any closer, because if they feel threatened, they ram whatever they feel threatened by, and since they weigh 500 kilos and can run 60 kilometres per hour, it is best not to make them feel threatened.

Well, I’m back now, and I had better get on to writing more fiction so that I won’t miss the update tomorrow.

I hope you’re all enjoying the summer as much as I am.

See you around!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

