A Knight On Pasture

Public domain image, royalty free stock photo from www.public-domain-image.com

(Credit: Petr Kratochvil, http://www.public-domain-image.com)

It is very relaxing to observe cows on pasture. That is, usually, it’s very relaxing. However, there was this one time…

The cows had only just settled into a fresh pasture, when they all got up and bellowed at something and after a while, I saw that a knight, all in armour was trudging through the pasture and alarming my cows. I hailed him twice before he noticed me and staggered towards my part of the fence, dragging his shield after him which made an ugly furrow in the grass.

‘What are you doing here?’ I asked him and he asked me whether I had seen his horse. He had the strangest way of talking, I could hardly understand him.

‘’fraid I haven’t,’ I told him, ‘you’ll only find cows here. Are they doing re-enactments up in the hills again?’

But he just said that it was very important that he found his horse and that maybe he could still join the retreat. Then he toppled over. Just like that. His armour thudded into the mud and his helmet rolled away downhill. And it was all empty. Just an empty suit of armour in the mud.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. Guess he didn’t find his horse. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

