The Power of Words

scarlet-kimono-stephanie-rew

(Credit: Stephanie Rew, fineartamerica.com/featured/scarlet-kimono-stephanie-rew.html)

The Speaker of the Empress is composed. Her hands are hidden in her kimono sleeves, her tone is cold, but her eyes are burning and her boiling words bubble over the podium and wash over the audience. She has already awoken the rage in the front rows; I can feel it like a pulse in my gut. It would be so easy to give in, but no matter how true my heart feels her words to be, my head knows that this is wrong. I know that when she says justice she talks of revenge.

And yet it lives, the hate she has ignited in me.

If only I could stomp it out; in me and in my fellows. If only I could put an end to this before it begins.

But how can one person stop a war?

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

