Sailing a Sunless Sea

I’m sailing a sunless sea. Looking for your light. Searching for that white pinprick of hope on the horizon. Far enough east, the direction of the god Salt, there should be real starlight.

It cannot be far now, if I read the navigator’s notes right. However, I still wish we had not left him with the monkeys and their thieving little hands. They have probably stolen his soul by now.

It was not my idea; the crew pressured me into it. They were worried that he might pick up some old bad habits if our supplies dwindled on our way east. The thought makes me release a half sob half chuckle. They were afraid of that poor shivering wreck of a navigator.

I mop up more blood from the deck and look for Salt’s light.

And forgiveness.

 

 

Next Post
Leave a comment

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

