Blessed Blasphemy

Ballerina

Ballerina (Photo credit: megadem)

Ballerinas make me think of bulimia and beautiful girls who received no help from me. The burden brings bleak thoughts and a blank expression to go with it. And that is just the beginning. I do not want to bow down to the black beasts that hide in the bushes of my soul, but barely have I seen them budge before they bound into the air around me and bring me down with them. They bereave me of my senses, they break the bones of my reason and all I can do is blubber some lame excuse or baseless defence.

‘Blameless,’ I whisper.

‘Blameful,’ their soft breath correct me.

But then you come along with your blessed blasphemy and blood flows back into my cheeks, and I bellow abuse at you, and make you believe that you are exactly as black as you are painted

and

I feel alive.

Previous Post
Next Post
Leave a comment

9 Comments

  1. This is incredible prose. You’re fantastic storytelling, with such emotion that I can feel every second of her sadness.
    Thank you for sharing this. It felt as though it was very personal for you.

    Reply
  2. You are very adept at this form – flash fiction. But, you probably already know that. I’ll just say I enjoyed it quite a bit. That’s enough for me.
    Later…

    Reply
  3. Sian Mann

     /  April 23, 2013

    Jeez, this is beautiful! Thank you for liking a couple of my posts and luring me over to your page. You write brilliantly, looking forward to reading more.

    Reply
    • I’m very glad you thought so 🙂
      And you’re welcome, I enjoyed reading your posts; How to be “that guy” was funny 🙂
      Thank you very much, I’ll look forwards to seeing you around 🙂

      Reply
      • Sian Mann

         /  April 23, 2013

        Oh thank you haha! And yes, I shall keep an eye out for your future posts. All the best 🙂

  4. Thanks for letting me camp out in your blog for a little while today. I had a great time and tried to leave my campsite as good as when I arrived. I’ll be back in a couple of weeks!

    Reply
    • You’re very welcome. I’m glad you enjoyed your stay.
      Thank you for reading and not littering.
      I’ll look forwards to seeing you around!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

