Writer’s Block

Here I am again staring at the screen. Willing new and interesting words to appear, but where are they? They say the only way to leave writer’s block behind is to write oneself out of it. So here I am. Trying.

If I have a muse, she must have gone on vacation somewhere close to my first exam, and even though I am done, she has not returned. How does one entice a muse to come back to work? Flowers? Chocolate? I am sure some chocolate would help. I had better eat some (says the chocoholic).

mmmm… Lovely. Now where did that muse get to? Perhaps she got lost in the mess on my desk? I suppose I could tidy it up just a little bit…

Done, but there was no muse hiding in the debris. Or wait. What is this? An old scrap of paper with a few scribbled words. It sounds like something from a dream. Or something I wrote in the middle of the night which is basically the same. Hmm… If I have a muse, I think she just gave me a hint.

What do you do when your muse goes away on holiday?

Previous Post
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Missus Tribble

     /  June 29, 2012

    When my muse buggers off to party on Skaro, or wherever it is she goes, I write absolute rubbish on one of my other blogs until I can think up something almost-intelligent to write about here! Writing absolute cr*p for a while seems to bring my muse screaming back to shout at me about the quality of my words (or lack thereof).

    That, or absinthe… 🙂

    Reply
    • So basically a sort of black mail?
      “If you don’t come back now, I WILL write something horrible”

      And absinthe, hmm… that could work 😉

      Perhaps muses have some sort of holiday hide out. Where they hold secret meetings. I’ll let you know if I find it 😉

      Reply
      • Missus Tribble

         /  June 30, 2012

        Haha, something like that, yes! I write some really good fanfic, but I’ll go out of my way to write rubbish until my muse returns – that way I’m still writing and I have something I can play around with when the block disappears 😀

        I don’t drink absinthe often (a bottle can last me a year) but it’s great stuff if the muse has flown!

      • Fanfic, now there’s another idea 🙂
        I’ve never written fanfics, but of course I’ve imagined sequels to series I like 🙂

        The only downside to absinthe I can think of is the taste. Doesn’t it burn?

      • Missus Tribble

         /  July 2, 2012

        If you search for Sarah Jane Smith or Red Dwarf on my blog, you will more than likely stumble across “Rise Of The Krytermen” and “The Night The Stars Cried” – my tribute to Elisabeth Sladen.

        Absinthe is heavily watered down and sugar is added; it doesn’t burn and tastes like weak aniseed 🙂

      • Nice, I’ll have to go take a look 🙂

        hmm, that doesn’t sound so bad 🙂

        I’ve just had an idea because I saw that it was possible to “adopt” a weird obsession at http://www.nanowrimo.org/en/forums/adoption-society so I’m off to write it 🙂

  2. Well, I try to distract myself with books or movies and stuff like that. But of course that could be taken as searching for my muse, because those things always inspire me.

    Reply
    • That seems like a good idea too 🙂

      But I often get caught if I read something good and then I spend all my time reading, not writing…
      Although, I have been inspired by books and films before.

      May your muse never leave you 😉

      Reply
  3. I use idea generators like Seventh Sanctum, the Nanowrimo Adopt-A-Plot, or even CAPTCHA (which is kind of like a literary Rorschach) to try and get those spark plugs firing again upstairs.

    Reply
  4. Sometimes washing dishes can help, believe it or not! I always have great ideas then. I think it’s helpful to just get something out, even if it’s just junk! Sometimes I think you need to get past all the junk before you get to the good stuff!

    Reply
    • That’s funny, I have had quite a few ideas myself while washing up 🙂

      I think I’ve got through most of the bad stuff now, so hopefully there’ll be a good update on Wednesday 🙂

      Reply
  5. I take a long hot bath… It helps me a lot!! And then I have to rush things up to pen down everything… 🙂

    Reply
    • Oh, that sounds lovely 🙂
      Unfortunately, I only have a small shower cubicle in my flat. I would have loved to try it out.
      Thank you for reading 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

